Comparison among Other Jurisdictions’ Paid Sick and Safe Time Legislation

Issue

Milwaukee
(now pre-empted)

San Francisco

Washington D.C.

Connecticut

Seattle — as proposed

Impacted Employees and
Exemptions

Other governments
exempted.

No explicit exemptions.

Exempts restaurant “tip”
workers, students and

healthcare workers with
premium pay programs.

“Hardship” exemption
available to businesses via
administrative rule.
(Rules not yet approved.)

Targets “service” workers,
listing 68 specific
employment classification
titles.

Exempts manufacturers
and certain tax-exempt
organizations.

Also exempts temporary
workers and salaried
professionals.

Other governments
exempted.

Use of Leave

Personal and family health;
and domestic violence.

Personal and family health;
and domestic violence.

Personal and family health;
and domestic violence.

Personal and family health;
and domestic violence.

Personal and family health;
public health; and domestic
violence.

Max Sick/Safe Time Avail.
(for a full-time employee)

1to 9 employees =5 days
10+ employees = 9 days

1 to 9 employees =5 days
10+ employees = 9 days

1 to 24 employees = 3 Days
25 to 99 employees = 5 days
100+ employees = 7 days

5 days per year

1to 49 FTE =5 Days

50 to 249 FTE = 7 days

250+ FTE = 9 days

(Major employers = 18 days,
if PTO)

Carry Forward /
Max Taken per Year
(for a full-time employee)

1 to 9 employees =5 days
10+ employees = 9 days

1 to 9 employees = 5 days
10+ employees = 9 days

1 to 24 employees = 3 Days
25 to 99 employees = 5 days
100+ employees = 7 days

5 days per year

1to 49 FTE =5 Days

50 to 249 FTE = 7 days

250+ FTE = 9 days

(Major employers = 18 days,
if PTO)
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Issue

Milwaukee
(now pre-empted)

San Francisco

Washington D.C.

Connecticut

Seattle — as proposed

Notice and Documentation
of Leave

Can require reasonable
documentation, but no
“unreasonable barriers” to
use of time.

Employees can be required
to provide “reasonable
notification” and
employers can take
“reasonable measures” to
verify use of sick time.

Notification = 10 days in
advance or as soon as
possible.

Documentation can be
required for absences of 3
or more days.

Notification = 7 days in
advance or as soon as
possible.

Documentation can be
required for absences of 3
or more days.

Notification = 10 days in
advance or as soon as
possible.

“Reasonable”
documentation can be
required for absences of 4
or more days.

If no medical insurance,
employer contributes to
cost of securing requested
documentation (50% for <
250 FTE, 100% for 250+FTE).

Waiver via Collective
Bargaining

Requirements cannot be
waived.

Requirements can be
waived without restriction.

Cannot negotiate a benefit

of less than 3 days per year.

Requirements cannot be
waived.

Requirements can be
waived without restriction.

When Does Benefit Begin?

90 days after hiring.

90 days after hiring

1 year after hiring

After 680 hours of work
(17 wks of full-time work).

180 days after hiring for
< 250 FTE.

90 days after hiring for 250+
FTE.

Protection from Yes. Yes. Yes. Yes Yes.
Retaliation?
Enforcement Model Enforced by Equal Rights Civil fines - S50 per Civil fines of $500 to Fines of $100 per offense SOCR’s standard

Commission

employee per day, 3x value
of withheld time.
Suspension of licenses also
possible.

$1,000 per offense.

for failure to provide sick
time; $500 per offense for
retaliation.

enforcement approach
(the same used for Fair
Housing and Employment
discrimination).

Page 2




